An effective Early Years Curriculum for young children takes account of how children learn, what they enjoy, what knowledge and understanding they have already acquired and the steps needed to move their learning on.

This year we welcome a new Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework, which comes into effect from September 2021. In addition to the EYFS, a new non-statutory guidance, entitled Development Matters has been published by the Department for Education.

The new curriculum is largely the same as the previous one, however the biggest change is centred around practitioner workload. These changes will aim to make assessments simpler, allowing staff to spend more time engaging in children’s play, developing their ideas and supporting your child’s progress through the most important years of their education. In addition, the age bands have been broadened which will support practitioners to use their professional judgements around child development making learning even more child centred. As always, your child’s teacher or key worker will be assessing your child’s development, feeding back to you and keeping a close eye on how your child is progressing.

The EYFS continues to have the 7 areas of learning with 17 sub-areas. The different areas are split into the following areas.   

For more information about EYFS curriculum then please contact the Assistant Head Teacher and EYFS Lead Miss Pugh who will be happy to help you. 





Contact Us

Belvide Gardens

Tel: 01902 842998
Fax: 01902 841629

Find Us


To get directions please

        [click here]